Error message

Deprecated function: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in _menu_load_objects() (line 579 of /home/remiraji/public_html/includes/

Humboldt Foundation Awards Another Grant for Humboldt Kolleg in UI

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation has awarded a grant to an application by University of Ibadan Professor of English, Aderemi Raji-Oyelade, to organise a conference, the Humboldt Kolleg in the Humanities in Nigeria, for the year 2018.

The Humboldt Kolleg under the theme - “Of Texts, Spaces, Signs and Symbols: Questing Corpora for Translational Research in the Humanities” - is scheduled to take place in Ibadan from February 19 to 22, 2018.  

A total number of 23 Humboldtians, 10 junior researchers and 8 senior non-Humboldtian researchers have been confirmed for the special international conference. They are drawn from universities and research institutions across Nigeria, and from Kenya, Tanzania, Togo, Zimbabwe, Senegal and Germany.

The sub-themes of the conference include fieldwork in text and cultural productions, new speech acts and identity constructions and subversions, challenges for new humanities scholars and the values and limitations of scholarship in the humanities.

Among UI scholars slated for the Humboldt Kolleg are Prof. Stephen Akinola Odebunmi, Prof. Herbert Igboanusi, Dr. Chukwuma Okoye, Dr. Aderemi Ajala, Prof. Obododinma Oha, Prof. Ademola Dasylva, Prof. Oka Obono, Prof. C. B. N. Ogbogbo, Prof. Ayo Ojebode and Prof. Isaac Olawale Albert. The UI Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Abel Idowu Olayinka, himself a distinguished Humboldtian, is the host of the special conference while the Nigerian Humboldt Ambassador Prof. Clement Odunayo Adebooye will give strategic support to the conference.

It is expected that the interaction of scholars in cognate fields of the Humanities and across different African universities and countries will bring about beneficial networking and lasting intellectual collaboration over time.

Published on:: 
April 10, 2017